Making History: Transcribe is made possible in part by federal funding provided through the Library Services and Technology Act program administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

"Correspondence, July-August 1915", Item 006

image 1 of 1

Zoom in to read each word clearly.
Some images may have writing in several directions. To rotate an image, hold down shift-Alt and use your mouse to spin the image so it is readable.

This transcription is complete!

Congressional Union for Woman Suffrage NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS 1420 F STREET, WASHINGTON, D.C. Colors-Purple, White and Gold VOTES FOR WOMEN Editor---Miss Lucy Burns Art Editor--Mrs. Nina E. Allender Chairman Circulation Department, Mrs. W. T. Branch

Executive Committee Miss Alice Paul, N.J., Chairman Miss Lucy Burns, N.Y., Vice-Chairman Mrs. Donald Hooker, Md., Mrs. O.H.P. Belmont, N.Y. Mrs. Crystal Eastman Benedict, N.Y. Mrs. Gilson Gardner, D.C. Miss Elsie Hill, Conn. Mrs. William Kent, Cal. Mrs. Lawrence Lewis, Jr., Pa.

Officers Treasure--Miss Joy L. Webster Chairman Finance Committee--Mrs. Donald R. Hooker Chairman Committee of 100 for Maintenance of National Headquarters--Mrs. William Kent Chairman Committee on Organization Woman Voters' Convention--Mrs. O. H. P. Belmont Chairman Susan B. Anthony Fund--Miss Isabel Mott Chairman Committee on Pageants--Miss Hazel MacKaye Legislative Chairman--Miss Lucy Burns Literature Chairman--Mrs. William L. Colt Press Chairman--Mrs. Vivian Pierce

Advisory Council Mrs. Robert Adamson, N. Y. Mrs. Inez Milholand Boissevain, N.Y. Mrs. John Winters Brannan, N. Y., Mrs. Edward N. Breitung, N. Y., Reverend Olympia Brown. Wis., Mrs. Lillian Harris Coffin, Cal., Mrs. Frank Cothern, N Y., Mrs Lucius M. Cuthbert, Col., Mrs. George H. Day, Conn., Mrs. John Dewey, N. Y., Miss Mary Bartlett Dixon, Md., Miss Lavina Dock, N. Y., Mrs. Rheta Childe Dorr, N. Y., Mrs. Abigail Scott Duniway, Oregon, Mrs. J. Borden Estee, Vt., Mrs. Glendower Evans, Mass., Mrs. Bertha M. Fowler, Col., Mrs. Emma Maddox Funck, Md., Mrs. Harvey C. Garber, Ohio, Mrs. Charlotte Perkins Gillman, N. Y., Mrs. Inez Haynes Gilmore, Cal., Mrs. Edwin C. Grice, Pa., Mrs. W. E. Hardy, Neb., Mrs. F. R. Hazard, N. Y., Mrs. Phoebe A. Hearst, Cal., Mrs. Florence Byard Hilles, Del., Mrs. Frederick C. Howe, N. Y., Miss Ada L. James, Wis., Mrs. Agnes Jenks, R. I., Miss Hellen Keller, Mass., Mrs. Florence Kelley, N. Y., Dr. Cora Smith King, Wash., Miss Gail Laughlin, Cal., Mrs. William Bross Lloyd, Ill., Miss Julia Marlowe, N. Y., Mrs. Lionel S. Marks, Mass., Miss Edythe Wynne Mathison, Conn., Miss Mary McDowell, Ill., Mrs. Sophie G. Meredith, Va., Mrs. Meredith Nicholson, Ind., Mrs. Mary Hutcheson Page, Mass., Mrs. Marsden Perry, R. I., Mrs. Annie Porritt, Conn., Mrs. William Prendergast, N. Y., Miss Margaret Roberts, Idaho, Mrs. John Rogers, N. Y., Prof. Lucy M. Salmon, N. Y., Mrs. May Wright Sewall, Ind., Mrs. Julia Stone, Ohio, Mrs. Jessie Hardy Stubbs, N. Y., Mrs. Mary C. Therkelsen, Oregon, Miss Clara L. Thompson, Mo., Mrs. Richard Wainright, D. C., Mrs. Thomas F. Walsh, D C., Mrs. Mina Van Winkle, N. J., Mrs. John Jay White, D. C., Miss Charlotte Anita Whitney, Cal., Mrs. Harvey W. Wiley, D. C. Mrs. S. B. M. Young, Mont.

July 13, 1915. Mrs. Jessie E. Townsend, 245 W. Frumaton St., Norfolk, Virginia. Dear Mrs. Townsend:- I have received your note in which you resign from membership in the Congressional Union for Woman Suffrage, and have as you request removed your name from our list. Sincerely yours, Lucy Burns. Vice-Chairman.