Making History: Transcribe is made possible in part by federal funding provided through the Library Services and Technology Act program administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

List of justices of Sussex County, 1769 Mar.

image 1 of 3

Zoom in to read each word clearly.
Some images may have writing in several directions. To rotate an image, hold down shift-Alt and use your mouse to spin the image so it is readable.

This transcription is complete!

By commission bearing date the fourteenth day of November 1766 the following Gentlemen stand appointed Justices of the Peace in the County of Sussex. John Mason Nicholas Massonburg Laurence Gibbons David Mason Thomas Vaughan Michael Blow Nathaniel Wych Henry Gee James Jones John Cargill John Mason junr William Parham Richard Parker Benjamin Wych John Mather William Blunt Ephraim Parham Solomon Graves Jesse Williamson James Bell George Booth John Hunt George Rieves Of whom the following have qualified, under the said Commission. Viz John Mason Nicholas Massenburg David Mason Michael Blow Henry Gee James Jones Mr James Jones now acts as under Sheriff William Parham Benjamin Wych since dead John Walker William Blunt James Bell George Booth The